Search This Blog

Friday, August 7, 2020

2021 ATHENA Award Nominees Announced by IWIL

I am so very honored to be among some of the very best names in Springfield's history.  It is such an honor to be nominated for next years award.  Thank you in advance to those who nominated me!

This award is sponsored by the Illinois Women in Leadership (IWIL). The definition of the award from their site is as follows: The ATHENA Leadership Award® was inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment -- qualities embodied in the ATHENA Leadership Model®. The Award is unique in both scope (local, national and international) and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based. The ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to a woman or man who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. Since the program’s inception in 1982, more than 7,000 exemplary leaders in over 500 communities have received the prestigious ATHENA Award in the United States, Bermuda, Canada, China, Greece, India, Russia, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Leadership Award® Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives.


ATHENA Leadership Award® Recipients are individuals who: 
  • Have achieved the highest level of professional excellence.
  • Contribute time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community.
  • Actively assist others, particularly women, in realizing their full leadership potential.
  • Reside in Sangamon or surrounding counties.

Announcing the 2021 ATHENA Nominees

2020 is a different year from our usual normal, but for some this frame has not permitted them to be anything less than great!  Below is a list of women who have not allowed our current state to allow them to be less to their peers, coworkers and community. We will be highlighting each of these nominees in our newsletters to come! So please be sure to stay tuned! Our 2021 ATHENA Awards are scheduled for July 15th, 2021!

The IWIL ATHENA Committee is proud to announce the 2021 Nominees:

  • Amy Beadle, Springfield Convention and Visitor’s Bureau
  • Karen Davis, LISC Central Illinois
  • Lisa Hammons, Springfield Electric
  • Dr. Diane Hillard-Simbell, MD; Springfield Clinic
  • Dr. Susan Hingle, MD; Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
  • Tiffany Mathis; Boys and Girls Club of Central Illinois
  • Dr. Dora Ramos, MD; Central Counties Health Centers
  • Donna Rogers Skowronski; Rogers HR Consulting
  • Debbie Thompson; Horace Mann Educators Corp
  • Val Yazell; City of Springfield

Past ATHENA Leadership Award®  Recipients

2019 - Dr. Tanya DeSanto
2018 - Karen Hasara
2017 - Margaret Ann Jessup
2016 - Sheila Feipel
2015 - Grace Luttrell Nanavati 
2014 - Dr. Linda Jones & Kim Leistner (tie)
2013 - Gail Lorenzini 
2012 - Darlene Weaver 
2011 - Sarah Mackey 
2010 - Deb Shultz 
2009 - Evelyn Brandt Thomas 
2008 - Lisa Pierce 
2007 - Linda Dillon 
2006 - Alison Novak 
2005 - Amy Hagen 
2004 - Cindy Davis 
2003 - Judith Teller 
2002 - Sue Myerscough 
2001 - Linda Waldron 
2000 - L. Gay Davidson 
1999 - Desiree Logsdon


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment.